Cultural Triangle

Sri Lanka's Cultural triangle is situated in the centre of the island and covers an area which includes the World Heritage cultural sites of the Sacred City of Anuradhapura, the Ancient City of Polonnaruwa, the Ancient City of Sigiriya, the Ancient City of Dambulla and the Sacred City of Kandy. Some of the sites are millennia old and are of high universal value which are visited by many pilgrims, both laymen and the clergy (prominently Buddhist), as well as by local and foreign tourists. A Sri Lanka cultural tour would not be complete without visiting these sites as these archaeological ruins provide a glimpse into the island's history, dating back to the 4th century B.C. The Largest and most historical sites in Sri Lanka of prehistoric value are in the Cultural Triangle, the area formed by linking the ancient capitals. Anuradhapura is one of the earliest urban sites in Sri Lanka, dating from before the 5th century BC. It was the country' first capital and a major religious centre for nearly 1500 years. The ancient monastery at Dambulla is best known for its rock temples and well-preserved 18th century paintings. It is one of the largest cave temple complexes in South Asia with about 2000 square meters of rock and wall paintings. Polonnaruwa was the capital of Sri Lanka from the 11th to the 13th century. The ancient remains consist of a walled inner and outer city, surrounded by monasteries and temples, with palaces, gardens and a man-made lake, the "Sea of Parakrama". Sigiriya is a large rock boulder, which is about 200 m. high and was built by King Kashyapa in 5th century to fortify the palace and pleasure garden at this site.